Seven Queensland is part of Australia’s Leading Free To Air television network comprising of 7, 7Two and 7Mate, licensed to and serving the regional areas of Queensland.

The station is owned and operated by the Seven West Media Ltd group from studios located in Maroochydore on the Sunshine Coast. Seven Queensland provides opportunities for media professionals in network Sales, Marketing, Traffic, Production, Engineering and News services.

Seven Queensland operates News and Sales offices out of Cairns, Townsville, Mackay, Rockhampton, Gladstone, Hervey Bay, Bundaberg, Toowoomba and the Sunshine Coast. Seven Local News bulletins are broadcast at 6pm each weeknight, and are followed by Seven News Brisbane at 6:30pm. Both the local and Brisbane bulletins are repeated on 7Two at 6:30pm and 7pm, respectively.

The bulletin is presented by Rob Brough, with Joanne Desmond co-anchoring the Cairns, Townsville and Central Queensland editions. Nathan Spurling presents sport with Livio Regano presenting local weather for all six sub-regions. Seven Queensland is committed to supporting local Queensland communities and providing a voice for regional Queensland.



The station began as two different operators:
• WBQ-8 Wide Bay/Maryborough, starting on 10 April 1965
• MVQ-6 Mackay, starting on 9 August 1968


WBQ later changed its callsign to SEQ (as in South East Queensland), and its on-air name to “Sunshine Television“, with its slogan Leading the Way. MVQ also changed its on-air name to “Tropical Television” at the same time. And as a long time broadcaster of Seven Network programs, as well as of the Brisbane Seven News edition on BTQ, as these were then under Christopher Skase’s ownership then these two began preparations for aggregation in 1988-89 as the Seven affiliates for viewers in regional Queensland.

When Queensland was aggregated at the end of 1990, SEQ-8 and MVQ-6 operationally merged to become The Sunshine Television Network, and thus became the regional Queensland affiliate of the Seven Network, adopting its new slogan Love You Queensland with a matching jingle based on BTQ’s in the 1980s while reformating its news service to its partner network. A new logo also debuted with the logo presentation similar to 7’s but with a map of Queensland on the top.

In 1995, Sunshine Television was purchased by Seven, and becameSeven Queensland, taking on a generic Seven Network look, adopting the Seven logo of the time. With few exceptions, its schedule since then has been virtually identical to that of its metropolitan counterpart, BTQ in Brisbane. Seven Queensland won the annual audience ratings for the first time in 1998 against WIN and Southern Cross Ten.